RIC
Regional Information Centre
for Scientific and Technological Cooperation with EU
 

FP7 Partner offer profile

Voronezh State Academy of Forestry Engineering - ENV.2012.6.2-2 Assessing global biological resources: the European contribution to the Global Earth Observation Biodiversity Observation Network (GEO BON)

Go back
Date of filling in 12.08.2011
Organization name Voronezh State Academy of Forestry Engineering
Organization adress 394613, Russian Federation, Voronezh, Timirjasev str., 8
Department/Unit Department of Forest Stands and Breeding
Contact person Dr. Igor Isakov, Associate professor
Phone +7-4732-537606
Fax +7-4732-537651
E-Mail labgen@vglta.vrn.ru
Web-site http://www.vglta.vrn.ru
Organization type
  • Research
  • Education
Special Programme
Theme
Environment (including climate change) (ENV)
Call identifier
FP7-ENV-2012-two-stage
Topic number ENV.2012.6.2-2 Assessing global biological resources: the European contribution to the Global Earth Observation Biodiversity Observation Network (GEO BON)
Call Deadline 20.10.2011
Short description of the organization (max 12 lines): Our Forestry Academy addresses the problems of reforestation, of the development of the forests’ resistance to the unfavorable biological and environmental factors, as well as of the integrated and rational use of forest resources. The academy is a member of IUFRO and has good prospects for the development of ecological research.
Our Department of Forest Cultures and Selection carries out some priority projects, in particular, the study of cytological parameters and their hereditary peculiarities in polyploid and aneuploid forms of birch, pine, and other tree species. One more project is focused on the study of differentiation of natural populations of woody plants by the reproduction systems and their influence on the growth and development, as well as on the manifestation of quantitative and qualitative features in the specified species.
Expertise offered According to the Commission on genetic resources in foodstuffs and agriculture sphere the total area of woods on our planet steadily decreases. 13 million in hectare of woods, mainly, at the expense of a redirection of use of the earth in other purposes annually disappears. This loss is a little compensated for the account of new afforestations and restoration of woods on the area of 5,7 million in hectare, however daily on the Earth is lost about 200 km ² woods. It is impossible with sufficient accuracy to estimate the genetic losses caused by processes of cutting down and degradation of woods, considering the general deficiency of knowledge of wood genetic resources.
For plants is available two basic systems of a sex reproduction: self-pollination and open-pollination. Inbreeding, or closely related crossing, is always connected with the decrease of phenotypical values of quantitative features in certain groups of plants. Inbreeding in self-pollinating plants (wheat, barley, peas, beans, peppers, citrus plants, cotton, etc.) is a normal phenomenon. In cross- pollinating plants and animals inbreeding can result in the action of harmful recessive genes, which in a homozygous state cause partial (sublethal and subvital genes) or full (lethal genes) destruction of organisms. Harmful influence of inbreeding is often revealed, for example, in self-pollination of corn, potatoes or cabbage (the decrease in intensity of growth, fertility; the appearance of anomaly and deformities). In hens annual coupling « brother x sister » leads to the hereditary decrease in egg-laying qualities and vitality. In human beings marriages between cousins result in the growth of frequency of hereditary diseases (especially rare ones) in children; inborn deformities, stillbirths and deaths in early age are more frequent than in unrelated marriages, by 24—48 %.
It is suggested to check the effects of inbreeding on quantitative features of woody plants (tree height, trunk diameter) and its evolution applications by carrying out a controllable self-pollination and open pollination in a downy birch and silver birch.
Problems to be solved and results: Stage-by-stage production of a necessary plant material will make it possible to check the necessary theoretical preconditions obtained as a result of tests on annual plants. An ultimate aim of the work is to obtain selfing lines in trees.
Scientific keywords biodiversity inbreeding mating system
Publications on the topic (other references)
  • Isakov I.Yu. (2005) Morphological variability of leaves in some artificial Birch hybrids (International Botanical Congress, Vienna, Austria, July 17-23. P. 632)
  • Isakov I. Growth dynamics of local Birch families obtained by different pollination types // VI International Meeting of Young Scientists «Eurasian Forests – Hungarian Forest», Moscow - Sopron, PH MSFU, July 4-9, 2006.- P. 46-48
  • Isakov I. Inheritance of leaf´s shape in some birch hybrids // VII International Meeting of Young Scientists «Eurasian Forests – Russian North», Moscow - Petrozavodsk , PH MSFU, July 9-17. 2007.- P. 37-39.
  • Isakov I., Isakov Yu. (2008) Peculiarities of growth and development of seed progeny in silver birch, downy birch and ordinary pine (Pinus sylvestris) produced by different pollination methods. (XX International Congress of Genetics, Berlin, Germany, July 12-17. P.323).
  • Sivolapov A.I. Different levels of mixoploidy in hybrid poplars / A.I/ Sivolapov, T/A/ Blagodarova // Cytogenetic studies of forest trees and shrub species. IUFRO Cytogenetics symposium, 8 – 11. 09. 1993. – Croatian Forests, Inc., Zagreb, - 1997. – P. 311 – 316.
  • Sivolapov A.I. Changeability of mixoploidy level in Tree Species as Stability Regulation Mechanism for Extreme Environment Conditions // Assessment Methods of Forest Ecosystem Status and Sustainability. Workshop (August 8-13, 1999, Krasnoyarsk, Russia). Abstracts.- Krasnoyarsk: V.N. Sukachev Institute of Forest SB RAS, 1999.-S. 152-153.
Description of previous and present experience in International Cooperation -
Previous participation in EU’s Framework Programme projects

RIC
Региональный информационный центр
научно-технологического сотрудничества с ЕС
 

Предложение о партнерстве для совместного участия в 7РП

Воронежская государственная лесотехническая академия - ENV.2012.6.2-2 Анализ мировых биологических ресурсов: европейский вклад в Глобальную сеть наблюдения за биоразнообразием

Вернуться назад
Дата заполнения 12.08.2011
Название организации Воронежская государственная лесотехническая академия
Адрес организации 394613, Российская Федерация, Воронеж, ул. Тимирязева, 8
Подразделение/отдел Кафедра лесных культур и селекции
Контактное лицо Исаков Игорь Юрьевич, доцент, кандидат сельскохозяйственных наук
Телефон +7-4732-537606
Факс +7-4732-537651
E-Mail labgen@vglta.vrn.ru
Сайт http://www.vglta.vrn.ru
Тип организации
  • Научно-исследовательская
  • Образовательная
Специальная программа
Тематическое направление
Окружающая среда (включая изменение климата) (ENV)
Идентификационный номер конкурса
FP7-ENV-2012-two-stage
Номер(а) тем(ы) и название ENV.2012.6.2-2 Анализ мировых биологических ресурсов: европейский вклад в Глобальную сеть наблюдения за биоразнообразием
Крайний срок подачи заявок 20.10.2011
Краткое описание Вашей организации Наша академия занимается вопросами восстановления лесов, повышения их устойчивости к неблагоприятным факторам биологической и внешней природы, а также комплексным и рациональным использованием лесных ресурсов. Является членом IUFRO. Имеются также перспективные направления для исследований по экологической тематике.
Наша кафедра лесных культур и селекции имеет несколько приоритетных проектов, в частности, изучение цитологических параметров и особенностей их наследования у полиплоидных и анэуплоидных форм березы, сосны, других древесных пород. Другой темой является изучение дифференциации природных популяций древесных растений по системам размножения и их влияния на рост и развитие, на проявление количественных и качественных признаков у указанных видов.
Краткое описание предложения о партнерстве Согласно Комиссии по генетическим ресурсам в продовольствии и сфере сельского хозяйства устойчиво уменьшается общая площадь лесов на нашей планете. 13 миллионов га лесов, главным образом, за счет переназначения использования земли в других целях ежегодно исчезают. Эта потеря немного компенсируется за счет новых лесонасаждений, и восстановление лесов на области 5,7 миллионов га, однако ежедневно на Земле потеряно приблизительно 200 км ² леса. Невозможно с достаточной точностью оценить генетические потери, вызванные процессами сокращения и деградацией лесов, рассматривая общий дефицит знания лесных генетических ресурсов.
Поскольку заводы доступны две базовых системы сексуального воспроизводства: самоопыление и открытое опыление. Межродственное скрещивание, или тесно связанное, всегда связывается с уменьшением фенотипических количественных особенностей в определенных группах растений. Межродственное скрещивание в самоопылении растений (пшеница, ячмень, горох, бобы, перцы, виды цитрусовых, хлопок, и т.д.) нормальное явление. В самоопылении межродственное скрещивание растений и животных может привести к действию вредных рецессивных генов, которые в качестве гомозигот вызывают неполный (летальные и полулетальные гены) или полный (смертельные гены) разрушение организмов. Вредное влияние межродственного скрещивания часто показывается, например, в самоопылении зерна, картофеля или капусты (уменьшение в интенсивности роста, изобилия; появление аномалии и уродств). У куриц ежегодное скрещивание «брат x сестра» приводит к наследственному уменьшению в кладущих яйцо качествах и живучести. В браках людей между кузенами приводят к росту частоты наследственных болезней (особенно редких) в детях; врожденные уродства, мертворождения и смертельные случаи в раннем возрасте являются более частыми чем в несвязанных браках, 24 — 48 %.
Предложено проверить эффекты межродственного скрещивания на количественных особенностях древесных растений (высота дерева, диаметр ствола) и его заявления развития, выполняя управляемое самоопыление и открытое опыление в пушистой березе и белой березе.
Проблемы, которые будут решены и результаты: пошаговое производство необходимого материала растений позволит проверить необходимые теоретические предварительные условия, полученные в результате тестов на однолетних растениях. Окончательная цель работы состоит в том, чтобы получить чистые линии у древесных.
Ключевые слова биоразнообразие системы размножения гибридизация программы развития инбридинг
Публикации по теме
  • Isakov I.Yu. (2005) Morphological variability of leaves in some artificial Birch hybrids (International Botanical Congress, Vienna, Austria, July 17-23. P. 632)
  • Isakov I. Growth dynamics of local Birch families obtained by different pollination types // VI International Meeting of Young Scientists «Eurasian Forests – Hungarian Forest», Moscow - Sopron, PH MSFU, July 4-9, 2006.- P. 46-48
  • Isakov I. Inheritance of leaf´s shape in some birch hybrids // VII International Meeting of Young Scientists «Eurasian Forests – Russian North», Moscow - Petrozavodsk , PH MSFU, July 9-17. 2007.- P. 37-39.
  • Isakov I., Isakov Yu. (2008) Peculiarities of growth and development of seed progeny in silver birch, downy birch and ordinary pine (Pinus sylvestris) produced by different pollination methods. (XX International Congress of Genetics, Berlin, Germany, July 12-17. P.323).
  • Sivolapov A.I. Different levels of mixoploidy in hybrid poplars / A.I/ Sivolapov, T/A/ Blagodarova // Cytogenetic studies of forest trees and shrub species. IUFRO Cytogenetics symposium, 8 – 11. 09. 1993. – Croatian Forests, Inc., Zagreb, - 1997. – P. 311 – 316.
  • Sivolapov A.I. Changeability of mixoploidy level in Tree Species as Stability Regulation Mechanism for Extreme Environment Conditions // Assessment Methods of Forest Ecosystem Status and Sustainability. Workshop (August 8-13, 1999, Krasnoyarsk, Russia). Abstracts.- Krasnoyarsk: V.N. Sukachev Institute of Forest SB RAS, 1999.-S. 152-153.
Описание предыдущего
и настоящего опыта участия
Вашей команды в европейских
или международных конкурсах/программах
-
Есть ли у вас опыт участия
в проектах Рамочных программ ЕС?
Нет